Online Handbuch (english)

Version Workbench - Project Maintenance

  • Published in Version Workbench - Online Manual

Version Workbench is a complete alternative for OMW when working with versions. Provided the only restriction that the new project status (setup in P98230 - Object Management Constants) equals the development status of your login environment, you can start with creating a new OMW project in Version Workbench by having your default project selected when choosing any of the Project Maintenance or Version Maintenance rowexits from the OMW Projects tab of the Version Workbench main screen.

Formexit Configuration from the OMW Projects tab of the Version Workbench main screen opens the Development Configuration screen where you can specify project statuses and user roles applicable for development for the specified pathcodes:

Formexit Defaults in this screen will load the ‘out of the box’ values as displayed above. Any custom defined status and/or pathcode in addition to the displayed above (e.g. an ACC900 environment with development status 34) should be added or changed in the grid. Changes (e.g. development status 100 instead of 21 for DV812) should also be made in the grid. Verifying and setting up correct values for the Development Configuration is part of the Version Workbench installation process.

2.1 Versions

Version Workbench makes adding, removing, checking in or checking out versions a more user friendly job compared to working with OMW. These Project Maintenance tasks can be performed by using rowexits Check Out, Check In, Versions or Owners from the OMW Projects tab of the Version Workbench main screen.

2.1.1 Adding or Removing Versions

Choose rowexit Versions from the OMW Projects tab of the Version Workbench main screen to enter the Add or Remove Versions screen. When you have your Default project selected when you use rowexit Versions, you will first be presented this Select Project screen that also offers the option to create a new project through formexit New OMW Project:

 

You can specify a project name or use the Visual Assist in the project name control. After making a selection or having created a new project using formexit New OMW Project in this optional screen you will enter the Add or Remove Versions screen after pressing the OK button:

 Steltix Version Workbench - Add or remove versions

This screen displays all versions that are currently present in the project. Selecting grid records will enable removal of the selected versions from the project by using formexit Remove Selected. Grid record selection is indicated by a green checkmark on the grid row header as is displayed above. Use the Select button in combination with multiple grid record selection, double click on a grid record or use formexit Select All to make your grid record selection.

You can add versions to the project based on a grid QBE selection by using the Add button in the Add or Remove Versions screen which will open the Add versions to Project screen:

 

Versions that are already present in the selected project will not be shown. Selecting grid records will enable checking out or adding the selected versions to the project by using rowexits Add Selected or Checkout Selected. Grid record selection is indicated by a green checkmark on the grid row header as is displayed above. Use the Select button in combination with multiple grid record selection, double click on a grid record or use formexit Select All to make your grid record selection. Use the Close button to return to the Add or Remove Versions screen after you finished adding or checking out versions

Back in the Add or Remove Versions screen there is a second way to add versions to the project. This is presented by formexit From Taskview. Formexit From Taskview will open the Select Taskview screen that enables to make a cross environment selection of a task folder from which all version content will be added to the project:

You can use the environment filter and browse through any taskview structure to highlight the task folder of choice. Using the Select button will open the following popup screen to confirm adding or checking out the number of versions found in the selected taskview to the project:

2.1.2 Checkout and Checkin

Rowexits Check Out and Check In from the OMW Projects tab of the Version Workbench main screen are enabled or disabled depending on your selection in the project tree control.

The Check Out rowexit becomes enabled when the selected project is in the development status as specified for the login environment in the Development Configuration screen and the selected project contains at least one batch version of which the token is available for checkout.

The Check In rowexit becomes enabled when the selected project is in the development status as specified for the login environment in the Development Configuration screen and the selected project contains at least one batch version of which the token is checked out to the project on the current workstation machine.

The Check Out and Check In rowexits are sensitive to the selection level in the project tree. When the project node is selected, all eligible versions for check out or check in in the project will be checked out or checked in. However, when the version template is selected, only all versions eligible for check out or check in in the project of the selected template will be checked out or checked in. Finally, if only one particular version is selected, only that version will be checked out or checked in.

2.2 Owners

You can manage ownership and role specification of users for an OMW project with Version Workbench. Use the Owners rowexit while you have a project selected to change your own user role for the selected project, remove yourself as project owner or add or remove other users as project owners. Use the Owners rowexit while you have your default project selected in order to find a project your user id is not currently registered for as an owner prior to entering the Work with Project Owners screen:

Adding a project owner will initially default the role to the Development Configuration specified default role for the project status. Use the Delete button to remove a user/role as project owner. Adding a user by using the Add button or changing the role by using the Select button will open the Project Owner Revision screen:

Back to table of contents